Tags

, , , ,

Sofia loves playing tea party and both girls are always playing in their play kitchen so I thought tea bags were needed.  Sofia helped me make them and only took about 15 minutes to do.

IMG_5383

I used dark brown felt.  I would have used brown thread, but I didn’t have very much left.  I don’t think I would have even gotten one done with brown, ha.  So I just used what was already on my machine, white.  I probably should have picked something that would have blended better, but oh well.

To make them I made a simple tea bag shape template.  Then I traced it onto the felt and cut out two for each bag.  I sewed around five sides.  I left the very top open.  Then this is where Sofia helped.  We took a little bit of poly fill and stuffed them.  I then cut a length of white yarn.  I stuck one end of the yarn into the opening.  Next sew that shut.  I went over it several times so make sure the yarn wouldn’t come out.  Then to make the tag I used fabric scraps.  Cut out two squares, put them right sides together, sew around three sides.  Then next you will turn it right side out.  Tuck the open end inside and put the other end of your tea bag string in that opening.  Sew shut and top stitch around the whole thing.  Done!

IMG_5381

I would have posted pictures on how to make these, but it was a spur of the moment decision to make them.  I hope my description on how to make them is clear enough.  If not I will gladly do a picture tutorial.  I’m sure Sofia won’t mind having more tea bags made.

IMG_5385

But really aren’t these cute?!  If you notice I made one tag non pink.  It was the second one I made and Sofia made it clear she wanted them ALL pink.  Oh my.  So the black polka dot one she declared to be Addie’s.

IMG_5386

I would like to find a little vintage tin to keep them in.  I’m going to have to keep my eyes peeled for one if I go antiquing.

