Tags

, , ,

IMG_5558bread

We love banana bread and muffins in this house.  We go through it so fast, but we really hadn’t made any gluten free for Adeline.  I thought it was such a shame that I hadn’t since she loves it.  Really she likes anything bread and unfortunately I don’t make her any bread or muffins.  This has been a long time coming.  I came up with this recipe and I was pleasantly pleased with the way it turned out.  I might make some tweaks next time I make it, but I thought I would share this recipe with you.

IMG_5559bread
Sofia calls the glaze I put on top chocolate.  It isn’t chocolate and she knows that, but she still calls it that.  Also the top of the bread is pretty much what she eats because of it.

IMG_5560bread
Ingredients:

Bread-

  • 1/4 cup oil or butter
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2-3 ripe bananas mashed
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 1/2 cups rice flour
  • 1/3 cup potato starch
  • 1/3 cup tapioca starch
  • 1 tsp of guar gum or xantham gum
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • chocolate chips or raisins (optional and also I don’t measure I just pour.  This time I just put in a handful of chocolate chips.)

Topping-

  • 1 Tbs melted butter
  • 1 Tbs sugar
  • 1 Tbs cinnamon

Cream together the butter or oil with the sugar.  Mix in the egg, the bananas, and water.  Pour in all the dry ingredients and mix until well blended.  Pour into a greased bread pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 50-60 minutes.  Mix the topping ingredients together and drip over the bread while still hot.

IMG_5561bread

Sofia and I had this bread made pretty quickly.  Sofia and I couldn’t wait for it to cool before we ate a slice.  Warm banana bread is better anyway.  Yummy!

