I am not a fan of tomatoes at all.  I will eat them cooked in a recipe as long as they are not huge chunks.  I prefer my tomatoes in ketchup form, but I do love me some tomato soup.  I have always been a little picky though.  I grew up eating Campbell’s tomato soup and for the longest time that is the only one I would eat.  Then a few years ago I got brave and tried Panera Bread’s tomato soup.  Yum!  A year or so ago I found a recipe for homemade tomato soup and it became an instant hit in our house.  This soup is ridiculously easy to make.  Maybe not as easy as opening a can of Campbell’s, but still pretty darn easy and way better for you and way better in taste.

Ingredients-

1- 29 oz can of tomato sauce

1 cup heavy whipping cream

1 1/2 tsp brown sugar

1 tsp Italian seasoning

pinch of salt and pepper

All you do is put all the ingredients in a large sauce pan and cook over medium heat.  Stir occasionally and cook till it is heated through.  That is it.  Sorry for no picture of the deliciousness.  I really did not think to share my recipe till after we had eaten it all.  I almost need to double the recipe.  We barely have enough for everyone to have a small helping of seconds and then Sofia always asks for more after her second helping of it.  I usually pair the soup with grilled cheese sandwiches made from my favorite crusty bread.  Mmmm…. Just thinking about it is making this pregnant mama crave it.  So, there you go you can now have yummy homemade tomato soup.  A perfect comfort food for a cold snowy day.

