Tags

, , , , , ,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Journaling is something I used to do all the time.  I would end my day with my thoughts, feelings, and experiences written out in a little book that was given to me.  Somewhere I lost that time and I am trying to get back into it.  I have a leather journal that I sporadically write in now, but I really need to be more consistent about it.  I thought if we all spent some time journaling I would get back into doing it on a regular basis, but I was wrong.  I spend more time helping the girls with theirs than I get to write on my own paper.  I don’t mind though.  It is a good habit for the kids to get into and eventually they won’t need my help.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Anyway, back in November I got this idea to start having the girls journal every night before bed.  We started out simple with a prayer journal printable that I had found here at a Virtuous Woman.    The page has a place for them to draw a picture from the day, something they are thankful for, who they want to bless, and something they need help with.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Since then, with Sofia we have tried to move more into journaling about what she just heard in her devotion for that night.  I have been reading ahead to come up with prompts for her to write about.  The devotional we are going through this year is Jesus Calling for Kids.  We are really liking it.  For the girls’ journal we are just using a binder right now, but I would like to eventually get Sofia a nice journal for her writing and drawing.  She is also now looking up her own Bible verses and reading them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Something else we added to their binder is a calendar.  Each night they place a stamp on the date.  I thought it might help us stay on track.  It seems to be working so far.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Snacks are also almost always a must every night during this time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Journaling has turned into a great way to unwind, unplug and have some quality family time worshiping our creator.

 

