Tags

, , , , , ,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I decided to give making clothes for boys a try.  There really aren’t too many boy patterns out there and I sadly never gave it much thought until we had a boy.  Now that we have a boy I really don’t have much to sew for him.  I have the book Making Baby’s Clothes and it has a sailor type tunic in it for boys.  I had bought some nautical fabric at Hobby Lobby and I originally was going to use it to make a dress for one of the girls.  I changed my mind and decided to sew Ethan a shirt out of it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was also my first time sewing on a collar and it was a lot easier than I was expecting it to be.  It was one of those things I was avoiding because I was a little intimidated by it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I wasn’t sure how I was going to like the contrasting fabrics, but I think I like it.  I actually wasn’t for sure if I liked the tunic at all.  Once I put the shirt on him though I really liked it.  He has a pair of orange pants that matches perfectly.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

He is getting really hard to photograph.  He is always on the move.  He is up to five steps now.  He could go further if he really wanted to, but he is a little hesitant about it still.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back to the shirt.  The sleeves ended up too long, but that isn’t unusual with Ethan.  Sleeves on most shirts are too long for him.  I made the shirt in 12 month size and he is almost 11 months old.  I think I am going to make him another one.  I think it will be a nice shirt for the spring since it is a pullover and light wait.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

