Tags

, , , , , , ,

I am going to try to be more diligent about sharing what we do for preschool each week.  I do everything literature based right now and Adeline seems to really like it.  If you follow us on instagram then you have seen most of these activities already.  I am also going to work on cleaning up our preschool page.  It needs a lot of work.

Last week our book was We’re Going on a Bear Hunt by Michael Rosen.  Addie really enjoyed the activities we did for it.

1.  We finger painted.  One of Addie’s favorite things to do is to paint.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I just did a google search for a bear coloring page and I liked this one the best.  For the finger paint I made some.  I used corn starch, water, and food coloring.  To make the paint you just mix 1 cup of water with 1 tablespoon of corn starch in a sauce pan over medium heat.  Add in the food coloring and stir until the mixture gets thick.  Take off heat and let it cool completely before using.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It has a really gooey feel to it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2.  We made a map.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We just used stamps, construction paper, and the brown finger paint from the previous project to make our map.  I let her place everything where she wanted it and then I made the trail.  I tried getting her to place things in certain places and she was not liking me telling her what to do.  Just letting her do it seemed to be a better option.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After we made the map we went on a bear hunt.  We had a big box that we had recently gotten and used that for our cave.  Addie placed her teddy bear in it and we went on a hunt.  Addie had so much fun with this activity.  We did it I don’t know how many times in a row and then when Brian got home she had to do it with him too.

3.  We watched it on youtube.

I really don’t utilize youtube enough.  It is something I am going to try to do more often.  Addie watched this video of We’re Going on a Bear Hunt so many times.  We also watched videos about bears on youtube.  This what not as exciting as the book.

4.  B is for Bear.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was a cute little craft.  We did a few activities for the letter B and this was one of them.  Some other B pages we did were:

Dot pages and Block Letters (both found at the same website The Measured Mom.

ABC Bible Verse Poster from Homeschool Creations.

5.  Hand print bear.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think our hand print bears turned out really cute.

6.  We made a lap book.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was our first time doing a lap book.  I think we will do more in the future.  I know next year for Sofia’s homeschool curriculum she is going to be making several lap books.  I thought we might go ahead and give it a try now.  You can find the one we did for this book at Homeschool Share.

I’m looking forward to sharing what we are doing this week.  I think it is going to be a lot of fun.

