I took a painting class this past weekend with some great friends.  It was a great night of us trying something new and having fun at the same time.  Our owl’s all turned out a little different from each others.  And they all all cute and I think we all did a good job on them.

2015-04-17 20.19.16

2015-04-17 21.46.49 2015-04-17 21.47.21

The next day all our girls talked about was how they wanted to paint an owl too.  I decided it would be fun to let them make their own piece of art.  I started searching on line for an easy painting the girls could do and I came across a wonderful tutorial on making an owl mixed media painting from the blog Thoughts From Alice where you can find the full tutorial.  I thought it would be a semi easy project for the girls to do.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I first had the girls paint their canvas.  Sofia chose yellow and then she added pink swirls.  Addie chose a light green even though it appears yellow in the picture.  She then started added black dots, but then she decided to paint the whole thing black.  It actually turned out pretty neat I think.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The girls then painted pages from a catalog and then I cut out all the shapes that made up the owl.  The girls then glued them onto the canvas.

2015-04-19 16.32.30

I didn’t get a very good picture of the girls with their painting.  They really didn’t want their picture taken and they would not hold still.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I think they did a great job.  They are now hanging up in their bedroom.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

