As you can obviously tell I took a hiatus from blogging.  I was feeling uninspired and just kind of tired of keeping up with it.  I felt like it was just another thing I had to add to my already long list.  Lately, I have been feeling a tug to bring it back to life.  After much thought I decided our blog just needs to take on a new focus.  The decision has come to make this blog our homeschool journey.  This year has been our first year of homeschooling elementary school and it has not been easy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We have spent the school year figuring out our schooling rhythm.  I’m still not sure we have found it.  We have spent the year figuring out what curriculum works best for us and right now I feel like we are in a slump.  We are all just kind of bored and completely uninspired with what we are doing.  I have found that text books just don’t work for Sofia.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve been looking up different ideas for curriculum and methods for next year and I am really excited about what I am finding.  We are going to take a whole new approach to our schooling next school year.  Literature based learning has been in the back of my mind lately.  Our kids love books.  We have practically a library in our house.  Why did this not cross my mind before.  Lo and behold I come across living books.  Perfect!  So then starts my study of the Charlotte Mason method (I still have lots to learn) and more and more I’m feeling drawn to it and I feel that would be a better fit for our family.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We will be implementing some of the Charlotte Mason method to finish out our school year.  I hope to get Sofia excited about it as much as I am.  I think it will take her time to get used to it, but we will get there.  We will find that rhythm.  I’m not sure how often I will blog about our journey, but I’m truly feeling revived and ready to finish our school year out strong.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

*These pictures of the girls were all taken in a creek by my grandmother-in-laws house.  It seems to be the spot for all the kids to play in the neighborhood.

 

 

