Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Summer is here!  Anyone else excited?  I just love summer.  Summer just makes me feel nostalgic and it just feels freeing after being cooped up all winter.  We have spent lots of time outdoors so far and I’m always trying to think of ways to add something new.  I feel the kids get tired of playing with the same outdoor toys or get a little bored of playing in their playhouse.  One thing that I have been meaning to buy has been bubbles.  I feel like I have completely failed them so far.  We went through so many bottles of bubbles last summer.  I mean gallon bottles, ha.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Since I hadn’t bought any bubble solution yet I decided to look into making our own.  Really, why had I not made any before?  So easy and if it spills it really is no big deal, because the homemade stuff really doesn’t cost hardly anything.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All you need is 1 cup water, 4 tablespoon of dish soap (we used Dawn), and 1 tablespoon of corn syrup.  We put it all in a shallow dish and I just lightly mixed it all together and we had bubble solution.  I used a shallow dish because I thought it would be easier for four kids to use all at once and I thought it would be less likely to spill.  Of course, it did spill so we had to make it a second time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

No bubble wand?  No problem.  All you need is a stick and some wire.  We didn’t have four bubble wands.  We had more like, one.  That was not going to cut it.  I decided to just go ahead and make four.  They worked out pretty well and the kids thought it was pretty neat that they got to help make their wands.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In all I think it turned out great and I think we will just be making it this summer instead of purchasing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

