I first heard about notebooking when I was looking into the Charlotte Mason Method.  We have been trying it the last two months.  I really wasn’t sure how well it was going to work for us.  I really thought Sofia would protest, but surprisingly she hasn’t minded it at all.  We have started out slow, not notebooking everyday.  We have ended up doing it about every other day just to get the feel and see if it was going to work out for us.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We started out notebooking in history through the book Who Was Marco Polo?  Sofia especially liked drawing and working on maps.  She had drawn several in her notebook documenting Marco Polo’s travels.  She has liked the maps so much that she has requested to do more things like that.  So, we are adding geography to our curriculum next year.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also had her include a timeline of Marco Polo’s life at the end of our unit.  One thing that I have to keep telling her to do is to slow down, write her best, and make something she can be proud of.  She likes to rush through her work and it causes her to mess up especially in math.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When we were completely done with the book I had her do a report on Marco Polo.  I got the idea for her project from the blog found here.  She wasn’t too fond of the idea of having to do a project, but since this one included some art she didn’t complain too much.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think notebooking is going to add so much to our homeschooling next year.  I think it helps that Sofia has really enjoyed it thus far.  She hasn’t always enjoyed writing.  When we get into next year she will be doing a lot more in her notebooks and with pretty much every subject.  For now though this works for her.  She is getting a feel for it and understands what is expected of her.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I liked seeing what she wrote and drew about each chapter after we read each of them.  It was interesting to see what she drew out from each chapter about Marco Polo.  I can say I’m really looking forward to next school year already.  I think the changes we are making are good changes and will improve our schooling.

